Home > sales prospecting > Should You Be a Business Owner?

Should You Be a Business Owner?


This is a heavy title for a blog but, then again, I truly feel it is a mandatory question you should ask yourself before venturing out on your own.  There is a romantic vision of owning your own business.  “Forget the Man…I can keep the margin and create my own empire.”  “I will never treat my employees the same way I have been treated.  I will build loyalty by taking care of my workers the way I have always wanted to be treated myself.”  “I will be honest with my customers and they will love me for it.”

This is good as everyone starting a new business should have a passion and a vision.  However, it won’t go anywhere if you can’t sell it.  Danny Brown of Small Business Newz asks most of the main questions but I feel he left out a crucial one…Can I sell It?

I have seen plenty of new businesses have a great model and plan, a lot of passion what they do, but crashed because of a lack of knowledge as to how to find active customers.  A good business plan will help you identify your customer base, as well as the competition.  Do you, though, have what it takes to reach out to the prospects, introduce yourself and sell to them?  It takes experience to do it right but it requires courage to get started.  Wikipedia defines courage as Bravery, Perseverance, Honesty and Zest.  Do you have the guts to make yourself vulnerable and deal with rejection every single day?  Do you have the stamina to take “NO” over and over and still learn from it so that your sales procedures adapt and grow over time?

It sounds brutal, doesn’t it?  I didn’t initially mean for this tone to develop but as I thought about it more and more I realized this is may be the only way to get this particular message across.   Starting a business is not something to be taken lightly and serious considerations should be taken into account.

In this world of political correctness, everyone gets to play and no one is left off the team.  Regardless of skill level, everyone gets a chance to get up to the plate and take a few swings.  I agree there are times when PC has its place…but not in the decision-making process of debating whether or not you should start a new business.  Just because you want to play in this arena doesn’t mean you should.

If you are starting your own business then you have to be brutally honest with yourself.  Do I have a Good Business Plan?  Do I have a passion for what I want to do?  Do I have the courage and drive to sell?  Not to ask these questions is dooming your business to certain failure.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

