Home > Uncategorized > Perspectives And Fleeting Moments

Perspectives And Fleeting Moments


Last night, my wife hit a deer.  As I write this, she is out getting estimates for the repair to the car.  My first reaction, when she called, was to ask her if she was all right.  I wasn’t aware I had been holding my breath until I exhaled heavily when she said everything was fine except for the bumper that had caved in a bit around the left front tire.  I was at home with our son, already asleep, so I wasn’t able to drive out and meet her.  However, shortly after her call, AAA showed up and was able to help her.

For a fleeting moment, I was angry.  Not at my wife, it wasn’t her fault, but at the unfortunate luck we seem to be having as of late.  We just need a break once in a while, to remind us things will get better and this is just a blip on the radar we will look back at and be grateful for the strength we found in each other.

As I said…just for a fleeting moment.

The image of my friend’s cousin came rushing back to me.  He had been in a horrific head-on collision the night before.  The driver of the oncoming truck had been pronounced dead on the spot and my friend’s cousin was rushed to the hospital by helicopter.  He has many, many broken bones and no one is sure if he is going to make it.  We can only hope.  Now I saw my wife’s unfortunate accident involving a deer and a bent fender from a different perspective.  We will be fine.

Earlier this summer, my daughter called and said she was spending the night at her friend’s house because she had had a few too many drinks and didn’t feel she should get behind the wheel.  After I hung up, for a moment, I was furious because she is underage and shouldn’t be drinking at all.  However, the logical dad in me kicked in and I realized what a mature act it was for her to call and make the better decision.  She had done the right thing and I was proud of her.

But for a fleeting moment…

When my brother was eighteen, he had only been driving for a short while and ruined the rear end of his girlfriend’s uncle’s car at a family reunion.  He took off and wasn’t caught but the guilt became unbearable.  Soon after, he wasn’t able to sleep any more and nervously asked her father if he could speak with him about something very important.  This was very unusual for my brother as he was, (and still is…he and Lori have been married for eleven years), extremely intimidated by Charlie. Charlie knew something was up as both of them had been acting squirrely for a week.  He agreed to my brother’s request, fearing the worst.

Charlie sat in his chair, in his living room, watching my brother pace back and forth, scratching his head…stuttering.  Lori was at the top of the stairs, hidden and trying to listen but her heavy short breaths were giving her away and Charlie knew she was there.  After an unbearable amount of time and the pleasure of watching my brother fidget had worn off, Charlie finally ordered him to just say it and be done with it.  My brother didn’t hesitate and blurted out, “I’m so sorry, Charlie, but I’m the one that hit uncle Joe’s car and even though I don’t have much money I promise to pay for everything and..” Charlie cut him off with a hug.

“You hit a car?  That’s it?”, Charlie cried.  “That’s fantastic!!!  That’s the best news I’ve heard in my life!”

“You…you’re not mad?” my brother stammered.

Charlie looked at him with a crazy gleam in his eyes.  “I’m not mad, you idiot!  I thought you got my daughter pregnant!”

Lori came bounding down the stairs and her mom came running in from the kitchen from where she had been listening.  For the next few minutes it was all about hugs and kisses and laughter and crying.  It is still the only time my brother ever was kissed by Charlie.

But for a fleeting moment……

  1. Kevin Moran
    October 5, 2011 at 7:39 pm

    Nery you write very well. I enjoy your stories. Keep it up.

    • October 5, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      Thanks, Kevin. I truly appreciate all the feedback. I’m glad you enjoy them and feel free to let me know if there is a question or a topic you would like for me to address.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment